Bergey's Manual of Systemic Bacteriology

 Bergey's manual is an accepted reference on the identification of bacteria. It has undergone gradual transformations and expansion since the time of its first publication. 

 The American Society of Microbiology published first edition of Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology in 1923. Professor David H. Bergey (Chair Person) and other four colleagues acted as the members of the editorial board. Afterwards, there was a sequel of eight editions, an abridged version and several supplements. At present, ninth edition (published in 1994) is available. It is used to classify bacteria based on their structural and functional attributes by arranging them into specific familial orders. However, this process has become more empirical in recent years.

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology  Manual of Systematic Bacteriology

It is the main resource for determining the identity of prokaryotic organisms, emphasizing bacterial species, using every characterizing aspect. First edition of this manual consists of four volumes. It's first volume was published in 1984, the second in 1986 and final two volumes in 1989. This manual has much broader scope. It includes all information of earlier manuals. In addition it includes the information on taxonomy, ecology, cultivation, maintenance and the preservation of organisms. It includes many kinds of information such as...
  1. Descriptions and photographs of species,
  2. Test of distinguish to distinguish among genera and species,
  3. DNA relatedness among organisms and
  4. Various taxonomic studies.
There are four divisions of kingdom Procaryotae according to Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology.

Division I : Gracilicutes

Includes prokaryotes with thin cell walls e.g. Gram negative bacteria.

Division II : Firmicutes

Includes prokaryotes with thick cell wall e.g. Gram positive bacteria

Division III : Tenericutes

Includes the prokaryotes that lack cell wall.

Division IV : Mendosicutes

Includes the prokaryotes lacking peptidoglycan in their cell wall.

Second edition of Bergey's Manual of systematic Bacteriology consists of five volumes. Volume I was published in 2001, Volume II in 2005 and the other three volumes in 2007. In comparison to the first edition, second edition has certain changes. e.g .,

  1. Volume - I includes The Archaea and The Deeply Branching And Phototrophic bacteria.
  2. Volume II includes the Gram-negative Proteobacteria. It includes medically important genera are Escherichia, Neisseria, Pseudomonas, Rhizobium, Rickettsiae, Salmonella and Vibrio.
  3. Volume - III includes the Gram- positive bacteria with low G + C content in their DNA. They are the members of phylum Firmicutes . It includes rods and cocci and also pleomorphic Mycoplasma. They may form endospores. Its classes are Clostridia, Mollicutes and Bacilli.
  4. Volume - IV includes the Gram - positive bacteria with high G + C content in their DNA. They have more than 50- 50 % G + C content. 
  5. Volume - V includes ten phyla. They are located here for convenience. Includes morphologically diverse gram - negative organisms. They may not be related. Organisms included are Plantomycetes, Chlamydia, Spirochaetes, Bacteroilds, Fusobacteria, Chlamydiae, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia and Pictyoglomus.

No comments: